Development Process Recommendations

Hello All -
I just joined a new team, they are a new team for this year, they have not done any coding work yet. I just joined and met the team today.
I have never done FTC coding before, i’m a full stack developer, so looking at the directions i understand what is going on (we’ll see)…

The school the kids go to does not have a coding class, so they want to do blocks instead of java.

I started the kids on the initial walk through for blocks. Creating Op Modes Blocks — FIRST Tech Challenge Docs 0.2 documentation (firstinspires.org)

Looking at how blocks works, we need to have the developer machine hooked up to the controller to even load the UI, then for all the actuators we need to also have the HW hooked up and configured for the controller. This seems like a lot of things need to be in place before you can start “coding”. Since it is the first time, they are planning on one bot, so doing this, it would either be in build mode or code mode since both of them would take all the HW.

Is there a better way to do coding/configurations? it would be nice if we could load a config file once hooked up to the parts, then code via the controller without the rest of the HW.

any help or guidance would be awesome, and welcome.
thanks!
mark

1 Like

Greetings, Mark!

Wow, that’s such a great question. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to provide some insight into this process.